Tags

, , , , ,

Ah summer! I remember summer vacations of the past, the lazy mornings, summer sleep away camp, a week or so in Kansas with cousins, weeks of no school and no work. I gotta get back into teaching! This two weeks per year is awful. I don’t know about the rest of you out there, but it seems to be rather inhumane to ask people to stay productive and driven and loving life with only two weeks out of the whole entire year off for vacation. I’ve felt this way for a long time and I voice this particular opinion when I’m either about to have my two weeks or have come back from my two weeks and have to re-enter the work world. It’s not about the work, or even those I work with. I think I have it pretty great when it comes to those I work for and with. It’s about the amount of time allotted for being away – it’s not enough. But then I think that’s true for all those working in places that only give a person two weeks. But I didn’t actually start writing this particular entry with the idea of getting on top of this particular soapbox.

What I meant to do was segue into the start of art camp this week. Getting home and trying to get back on eastern standard time has been tough. Ugh! Gaining back twelve hours is rough. I have had a really rough go of it. I’ve tried not to nap, but I find myself falling asleep in my tracks around 2 or so and then absolutely falling asleep for the night around 7 – it’s awful. This means I find myself wide awake around 2.30 am, which is not helpful. So today, Monday, I was determined to stay awake until at least 8 pm and do things while I still had the day off. This morning found Amelia doing everything she could to get out of going to camp. Everything ached. Everything hurt. We talked it through, about wanting to be together upon getting back and finding routine, about hating to do art that someone else tells you to do and not being able to do the art you want to do, about not being able to hang out with mum at work and other matters of import.

She did finally get out the door and we went. I had to stay with her for about 10 minutes while she found her rhythm and remembered that this was a good place and that she really does love being at the Painting Workshop and really does enjoy the day with the instructors there. I figured I’d be picking up a girl ready to go back tomorrow and having made a new friend or two. And guess what…I did. I picked up an excited girl with three art projects and one new friend. Someone close to her age and back from having lived in Italy for some months – so they have something in common. The theme this week is art around the world. They went to New Zealand today and here are the offerings brought home: a model of a little kiwi bird made from modelling compound and an oil pastel piece inspired by the art of the first New Zealanders who were inspired by the fern growing there – this according to Amelia when asked about her piece. Oh, and if you were counting and noticed that I’d only mentioned two pieces, good for you! The other piece was a “get you started” piece that is a ladybug on a stick – not great art, but good craft piece for those having a hard time entering into the morning of camp.

Pictures to follow.